Event box

Scholarship of Teaching & Learning (SoTL) Circle (Hosted Online via Zoom) In-Person

Have you ever wondered where evidence-based teaching practices come from? Do you have an idea about some aspect of your teaching or your students’ learning you’d like to investigate? Have you thought about or tried a new pedagogical technique but didn’t formally study its effects? If the answer to any of these questions is “yes,” we invite you to join our Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL) Circle. The SoTL Circle is for both beginners wanting to take their first step into this type of scholarship and also for those who want to hone their educationally focused ideas and skills.

In this 12-part series you will have the opportunity to learn how to design a SoTL study in your classroom from start to finish. In addition, you will learn about the process of seeking university approval so you may carry out your SoTL project if desired. This cohort-based series is designed as a stepwise process and thus attending all sessions and completing assigned readings and activities will ensure both you and the group get the most out of this opportunity.

Facilitators: Benjamin Brock, Postdoctoral Fellow, CAT

This 12-part will meet online via Zoom at 2:00-3:30pm on the following dates:

  • Monday, June 3
  • Wednesday, June 5
  • Friday, June 7
  • Monday, June 10
  • Wednesday, June 12
  • Friday, June 14
  • Monday, June 17
  • Wednesday, June 19
  • Friday, June 21
  • Monday, June 24
  • Wednesday, June 26
  • Friday, June 28

Registration for the first session will serve as registration for all 12 sessions. Registered faculty should commit to attending all sessions.

Date:
Monday, June 3, 2024
Time:
2:00pm - 3:30pm
Time Zone:
Eastern Time - US & Canada (change)
Location:
Hosted Online via Zoom
Campus:
Main Campus
Categories:
  Scholarship of Teaching & Learning Programs     Virtual Teaching & Pedagogy Workshop  

Registration is required. There is 1 seat available.